Skip to content

Magis Center Leadership and Staff

Meet the Team

Read full bio
Robert J. Spitzer, S.J., Ph.D. President & Co-Founder Read full bio
Larry Smith Executive Director
Joan Jacoby Director of Administration
Joe Miller Director, Purposeful Universe
Janell Whaley Director of Customer Service and Product Management
Ashley Fox Business Unit and Product Line Director
Katherine LeBlanc Director of Finance
Susan Medart Manger Customer Relations
Justina Murzyn Director of Marketing
  • Board of Academic Fellows
  • Board of Directors
  • Ecclesiastical Advisory Board
  • Physics Advisory Board

Board of Academic Fellows

Robert Spitzer, S.J., Ph.D. (Philosophy of Science)

Michael Barber, Ph.D., John Paul the Great (Theology – Jesus)

Steven Barr, Ph.D., University of Delaware (Physics – Evidence for God)

Francis Beckwith, Ph.D., Baylor University (Philosophy – Existence of God)

Michael Murray, Ph.D., KU (Physics – Evidence for God)

Robert Kurland, Ph.D., formerly Harvard and Carnegie Melon (Physics, Evidence for God)

Dr. John V. Robinson, Professor Emeritus, North Carolina State University (Nuclear Physics)

Board of Directors

Bill Newland
Chairman of the Board
Owner, Hercules Industries Inc.

Timothy R. Busch, J.D., CPA
Vice-Chairman of the Board
Founder and President of the Pacific Hospitality Group, LLC

Fr. Robert Spitzer, Ph.D., S.J.
President of the Board
Founder and President of Magis Center

Rebecca Cates
Secretary of the Board

John Ford
Treasurer of the Board
Founder, CEO and Chairman of the Board of Insight Investments Corp

Margot Kyd
Retired Executive, Sempra Energy

George Patrick Murphy

Don Ferfolia
Corporate Treasurer/Licensed Funeral Director at Ferfolia Funeral Homes

Lynne Jilot

Fr. Robert Knoll, S.J. 

Dr. Daniel Kuebler
Dean of the School of Natural & Applied Sciences, Professor of Biology, Franciscan University

Robert Luddy
President & CEO, CaptiveAire

Michael Noggle
Former Director of Operations for Magis Center

Douglas Stephen
Former Chairman and CEO of NMC Group

Gus Zepernick

Ecclesiastical Advisory Board

Cardinal Christoph Schönborn – Archdiocese of Vienna; PCPNE*

Cardinal George Pell – Former Prefect of the Secretariat for the Economy

Archbishop Charles Chaput – Archdiocese of Philadelphia (retired)

Archbishop Jose Gomez – Archdiocese of Los Angeles

Bishop Kevin Vann – Diocese of Orange

*PCPNE: Pontifical Council for the Promoting of the New Evangelization 

Physics Advisory Board

Stephen Barr, Ph.D.
University of Delaware, Department of Physics (Specializations: Particle Physics, Elementary Particle Theory, Supersymmetric Grand Unified Theories, Cosmology)

Robert Scherrer, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University; Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy (Specializations: Cosmology, especially particle physics in the early universe, dark energy and dark matter, and primordial element production)

Daniel Spicer, Ph.D.
NASA/GSFC; Senior Scientist, Laboratory for Solar and Space Physics (Specializations: Mathematical Codification of Electromagnetics)

Robert J. Spitzer, S.J., Ph.D.
Magis Center of Reason and Faith, President (Specializations: Philosophy of Science – Time theory, Hilbertean Proofs, Connection between physics and metaphysics)

Karl A. van Bibber, Ph.D.
Naval Postgraduate School, Vice President and Dean of Research (Specializations: experimental nuclear and high energy physics, searches for dark matter)

Learn more about Fr. Spitzer, S.J., Ph.D.